LSA students design & build exhibition stands

The model stands for the Leicester School of Architecture travelling exhibition was designed and built by LSA students in 3 weeks out of oak, steel and water-jet cut brass. The exhibition stands will be on display at LSA until October 2010.

BIG thank you to all the students and staff at DMU who contributed to the exhibition including the Dean Dr Gerard Moran, and Head of School Prof David Dernie and all staff including the workshop.
A special thanks to all the students including Alex Taylor, Ashley Clayton, David Monney, Mathew Spencer-Smith, James Flynn, James Watson, Rob Symonds, Adam Grice, Chrysi Fradellou, Peter Greeves, Chris Okoro, Victoria Bennett, Athina Sallam, Alex Russell, Chris Vansittard, Chris Christophi, Richard Bailey, Gianni Simone and Simon Davies for all the hard work and late nights..!

For more information on Leicester School of Architecture, DMU please visit:


Ashley Clayton and James Flynn Exhibit at The Royal Academy of Arts: Summer Exhibition

Leicester School of Architecture students Ashley Clayton and james Flynn exhibit their polyark project at the Royal Academy of Arts Summer Exhibition 2010. The Royal Academy Summer Exhibition runs untill Sunday 22nd August 2010.


saraben>studio featured on the culture show

Sara Shafiei and Ben Cowd's project 'The Crown of Esfahan' was praised by Rachel Cook in a special episode of the Culture Show about this years Royal Academy of Arts Summer Exhibition. The Summer Exhibition runs untill August 22nd 2010.


LSA Student Prizes 2010

Students tutored by Sara Shafiei and Ben Cowd win Leicester School of Architecture student prizes:

Leicester and Rutland Society of Architects Prize:
Best Graduating Part 2 Student: Richard Issleib
Best Performance by a non graduating student:
5th Year: Simon Davies & Ashley Clayton

Peter Elderfield Award
This award is given to a student who has investigated in a design project or thesis with a focus on housing, issues of sustainability, re-definition of the housing type, the notion of 'home', spatial quality within dwelling and it's connection within urban context, and to have offered a critique of current theories and orthodoxies.
6th Year:
Richard Issleib
Manpreet Bassan
Joseph D'Abbro
5th Year:
Richard Bailey
Ashley Clayton
3rd Year:
Rebecca Smith
Gareth Patrick
Adiyan Prize:
Simone Plassard
Ibstock Award for best use of digital technology:
Alex Taylor

Ibstock Award for best model/drawing:
James Flynn and Ashley Clayton

RIBA east midland student low carbon award:
Richard Issleib